Margarita kite school testimonials
  • Maria Ireland

    Reviewed: February 6, 2020

    • King Room with Garden View

     

    • 3 nights · January 2020
    • Solo traveler

    Best choice in kalpitiya

    10

     

    Liked I stayed there for 3 nights but would have stayed longer if I could:) The bungalow was huge, big double bedroom plus a single one, outdoor shower and bathroom with lots of privacy;). The garden, the dinners sharing with other travelers, great sense of community so perfect for solo travelers like me 😁 They let you bikes to move around, a short ride to kite school center were we shared a beer or two after long day at the beach. They pick you up with a boat and bring you to other shore of the lagoon to the kite point, your food can be delivered there on request so you can just concentrate on your lessons. The instructors are amazing and different nationalities so lessons can be in English, Spanish… The owners and their team are a bunch of amazing vibrant people they make you feel So welcome that will be hard to leave. Hope I’ll see you soon Love Isa

Marta Poland

Reviewed: January 28, 2020

  • Economy Double Room

 

  • 7 nights · January 2020
  • Couple

This is magical place perfect for backpackers and those who love the nature!

10

 

LikedI really loved the place for its simplicity and eco character. We stayed in a very nice bungalow with a private bathroom located completely outside (meaning outdoor but of course covered by the fiancé ;)). So every time I took shower, I felt the rays of the sun running on on my face! The surrounding area is very nice and quiet (as long as wild animals don’t start to talk with each other;)). Breakfast was very tasty but simple. Nevertheless, we enjoyed fresh juice, fruits, eggs and bread with butter and jam 🙂 Later one understood that this is how it is in Sri Lanka – simple and super tasty! In the restaurant/bar area you can also easily meet people from around the world and enjoy beer or dinner with them. What we also highly appreciate is that Margarita provides also bicycles which you can use for free and you share them with the rest of the guests. Ruben, Ingrid and the whole staff were super friendly and helpful. Any inconvenience they find solution for and payed us back some nice way. By the way they are very nice and empathetic people, who take care about people – local community as much as their guests.

Janaka_a United Kingdom

Reviewed: January 24, 2020

  • Chalet

 

  • 5 nights · January 2020
  • Family

Great place to learn kite surfing and get immersed in the kite surfing community.

8.0

 

LikedBy staying we could engage more in the kite surfing community, the staff, instructors, and their clients. The terrace bar at the kite centre and the intimate evening buffet meals were great opportunities to be social with the days kite surfing as common ground.

Lauren United Kingdom

Reviewed: September 25, 2019

  • Chalet

 

  • 2 nights · September 2019
  • Couple

Friendly vibes!

10

 

LikedReally friendly place, everyone is made to feel welcome, even non-kitesurfers like us! We were just passing through and needed a couple days rest and it was perfect for that. We had a tuk tuk so you might need transport if wanted to get around the area, although we also walked. Cabins are cool and cute, some nice details and even though they are basic, they are fun, especially the outside shower. Breakfast was big and we liked communal dinners, also meaning you can relax and not go far. Also refillable water is a big bonus for us. Thanks Reuben and team, it was great meeting you, lots of laughs 🙂

  • Jacqui New Zealand

    Reviewed: September 20, 2019

    • King Room with Garden View

     

    • 3 nights · September 2019
    • Couple

    Great place to spend a week learning to Kite Surf. Fantastic staff and instructors.

    9.6

     

    LikedWe loved the staff and the vibe of Margarita Village. The set up of the cabana’s are really nice, all facing a central garden area with the restaurant at the end in the middle. The breakfasts were yummy and the Kite Surfing lessons were great. Had a really great time meeting lots of different people. You can also use a couple of bikes to get in to town if you like (10 minutes).

     

     

  • Ashraf Tunisia

    Reviewed: September 17, 2019

    • King Room with Garden View

     

    • 3 nights · September 2019
    • Solo traveler

    Exceptional

    10

     

    LikedI had such an amazing stay at Margarita Village Thanks to Ruben and all his team for the wonderful time. Not only i learned how to kite surf in margarita but i met lots of awesome people wether locals or foreigners from all globe corners which really added so much to my experience. The whole team at village or the beachboys the lagoon are always at your service with a genuine smile, friendly and professional at the same time. Wether newbie or advanced level i highly recommend you check out Margarita kite school. It has it all and you’ll never go wrong. I will definitely come back here again for another windy season

  • Julia Germany

    Reviewed: August 30, 2019

    • Chalet

     

    • 3 nights · August 2019
    • Solo traveler

    Exceptional

    10

     

    LikedIt’s a lovely place to stay. Very basic huts with outdoor showers with a beautiful garden. Breakfast and Dinner are homemade and really delicious and it’s nice to sit outside together with all the other guests. The guys running this place and working there are really helpful and friendly and take care of everyone. Exceptional are the kitesurfing lessons! The lagoon is really suitable for beginners and Eusebi and Mario (our instructors) really get you on to the water and onto the board very fast! They are also very nice and make sure you stay safe and have fun while learning! It was a real pleasure and it surely this wasn’t our last stay here! Highly recommend it!

    DislikedMosquitoes 😀 It’s a in between the lagoon and the city and both are not really in walking distance.

     

    1 person found this review helpful.

     

  • Dorrie Australia

    Reviewed: July 28, 2019

    • King Room with Garden View

     

    • 4 nights · June 2019
    • Solo traveler

    Simply the best place in Kalpitiya and surroundings! 🙂

    10

     

    LikedI booked for 4 nights, ended up staying for 3 weeks! Margarita Village and kite centre became my home away from home. The cabins are comfortable and very spacy, with a huge outdoor bathroom, a comfy bed, fan to cool you down, and a chill porch and hammock. The staff goes that extra mile to make all your wishes come true..a fresh coconut, extra towel or just a nice chat, no worries! The breakfast and especially the dinner are just the best! The local chef knows how to prepare his country’s great food, but also cooks up the best tuna and Spanish dishes. Probably influenced by the Spanish owners 😉 Every day is a treat with a perfectly balanced combination of veggies and meat. The kite centre is very professional. The vibe is relaxed and the centre uses good quality kite surf gear, and very skilled instructors which speak different languages for your convenience. Not only do they know how to get you starting this amazing sport, they help you to progress and you will have a lot of fun in the mean time! The 3 weeks I spend in this place the owners, instructors and staff together with the other wonderful guests became like a family to me. From the chilled vibe, the fun game nights, the nerdy kite talk to the amazing food and very warmhearted people, I loved every minute I spent there and am already planning my next stay!! 🙂

     

  • Jérôme Switzerland

    Reviewed: July 5, 2019

    • King Room with Garden View

     

    • 4 nights · June 2019
    • Couple

    best stay we had in sri lanka!

    10

     

    LikedBest stay we had in sri lanka! Perfect for kite surfing! the staff was so friendly and helpfull! the food was delicious! I highly recommend this place!

     

  • Chris United Arab Emirates

    Reviewed: June 7, 2019

    • King Room with Garden View

     

    • 5 nights · June 2019
    • Solo traveler

    Professional Work Family!

    9.6

     

    LikedVery environmentally friendly! They look after you like a family member would! Great food cooked by locals every morning, lunch and dinner! A warm welcome every morning by every staff member! And great conversations in the evenings! AWESOME tuition done on the water by certificated kitesurfing instructors that will 100% get you to stand up on the board!!

     

  • Louise Sweden

    Reviewed: May 24, 2019

    • King Room with Garden View

     

    • 3 nights · May 2019
    • Solo traveler

    An amazing stay at Margarita Village!

    9.6

     

    Liked+The staff were very helpful and friendly + Peaceful and relaxing + An overall good vibe + A fun introduction to kite surfing – Ruben is an amazing instructor! + Clean rooms and loved the outdoor shower I highly recommend Margarita Village for a great stay in Kalpitiya and in particular the kite surfing course! A truly fun and great experience!

  • Kimberley Germany

    Reviewed: April 4, 2019

    • Chalet

     

    • 1 night · April 2019
    • Solo traveler

    I was all around the world. I know many “places” but this place turned into a home to me

    9.6

     

    LikedI really, really liked the place a lot because it was compared to many other places in Asia a really souly place, with a good vibe, happy and down to earth people. So I liked the mosted the atmosphere at this place which was created by the relation to nature( wooden spaceious chalets ) , by the funny and really attentive and lovely sri lankan staff and by the owner Ruben itself. You can really feel that Ruben and his team worked with all their heart to create a relaxing , creative and inspiring place for kitesurfer and non-surfers. The food was , so, so, so good. It was fresh, prepared by sri lankan family recepies and I would only go for the Kottu one more time there. You will find all you need. Bicycles for free to go to the beach or the free shuttle during kite season and during the leassons. They offer a really proper service and there is always someone around to answer your question. REALLY LOVELY STAY. The wooden chalets are spacecious , provided with all you need. Look at the pictures I attached. really a dreamy place in the nature.

  • Iñaki Singapore

    Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    • King Room with Garden View

     

    • 9 nights · February 2019
    • Solo traveler

    Exceptional

    10

     

    LikedMy experience at Margarita was amazing. I spent almost a week with the objective of learning Kite Surf. What I found was the most amazing group of travelers coming from all over the world, both couples and solo travelers. You share your entire day with this people… breakfast, lunch at the beach, dinner (the BBQ was excellent!). We had nice darts competitions at night and also Yoga to start the day, thanks Ingrid for being an amazing teacher! Kalpitiya is a Kite Surf place, so expect to be in a “Kite mood” all day long meaning wind will determine how your day goes. Rubén and Eusebi, the owners of Margarita, and the other instructors Mireia, Mario and Ken are an amazing team of friends. You’ll have fun, you’ll learn, you’ll want to go back once your holidays are over. The resort has the basic needs, don’t expect fancy facilities but you’ll quickly realize you actually don’t need that as it is part of the whole experience and will make your stay more enjoyable. The place is built keeping the local feel, you are actually part of the small town. If you go for a walk you’ll meet smiley people everywhere and all sorts of farm animals. If you decide to drive around (on a motorbike), they will help with the booking and advice on good restaurants in the area. Thanks MKS!!!

     

     

     

  • Linn United States of America

    Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    • King Room with Garden View

     

    • 4 nights · February 2019
    • Couple

    The place to stay when learning how to kitesurf

    9.6

     

    LikedMargarita Village was great and perfect if you want to learn how to Kitesurf. The room are large and comfortable. There is an outdoor bathroom which we really enjoyed. keep in mind the shower is not hot but honestly you don’t want a hot shower there! A cold-warm shower was nice and refreshing. The staff is really friendly. The place is not so big, only a few cabanas, which means you get to to know all the staff and other guests quickly. They also have a family of ducks, some bunnies, a cat and a dog that roam the premises. The kite school itself is fantastic as well. Reuben and his team are great teachers, very patient, and happy to help out anytime. It is about a 15 minute ride from the village to the lagoon. The Kitesurf team will pick you up in a truck every morning and bring you back as well, and they also provide beach bikes free of charge of you prefer. The breakfast was a bit more expensive (but still very cheap for Western standards) as some of the other places we had been to in Sri Lanka, but the dinners were very priced normally and were very good. They varied between Sri Lankan and Western cuisine. We had a really wonderful experience. Thanks to the whole team!

    DislikedBreakfast was a bit more expensive than other places (but still cheap for Western standards)

     

     
    Marcin Poland

    Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    • King Room with Garden View

     

    • 3 nights · February 2019
    • Couple

    We will come back!

    9.6

     

    LikedVery welcoming stuff that creates a chilled vibe. Ruben is simply a great host. The place attracts a friendly crowd. You get to feel that even if you are not a kitesurfer. Fair pricing for the kite school and the gear rental. The bathroom in an open area was highly enjoyable.